RDS-PP For the new technologies Identification System
for Power Stations
Digitization of proven technology New Layer New Layer
Identification System
for Power Stations
Efficient operational management

LABELLING SYSTEMS

Systematic and uniform labelling of installations for the generation and storage of electricity and heat is not a matter of course. However, it is an essential element, especially with regard to digitalisation, for cost-efficient planning, construction, operation, maintenance and dismantling: systems and individual plant components have to be clearly identified and labelled. In addition, a labelling system acknowledged by the power industry is the basis for plant and product documentation. It is the key to efficient data management, modern condition monitoring and predictive maintenance. A common identification system is the only option that can establish digital interfaces between all participants, planners, manufacturers, insurers, operators and owners over the entire life cycle of a plant.

KKS or RDS-PP®

Since the mid-1970s, the VGB Power Plant Identification System KKS has been successfully used worldwide for the identification of power plants. A VGB Working Panel ensures continuous further development and updating of KKS/RDS-PP®. Currently, the 8th KKS edition dated 2018 is available.

After publication of international basic standards for labelling and their adoption in European directives, it became necessary to further develop the KKS. The Reference Designation System for Power Plants – RDS-PP® for short – is the consistent further development of the worldwide successful Power Plant Identification System KKS.

An important pillar in the development of the RDS-PP® was the KKS, which has been known for almost 40 years. The code letters of the KKS function key can be transferred to the new system key to approx. 90 %. The VGB Technical Group “Plant Identification and Documentation” is continuously working on the creation and maintenance of VGB standards for extending application according to RDS-PP®. Labelling according to the RDS-PP® system is based on international standards and includes both the structural and the labelling system. The RDS-PP® provides the basis for an object-oriented identification of individual plant components with any number of relationships to other objects and can therefore be very well mapped in a plant management system. Uniform and consistent structuring as well as the clear identification of plants and components increases plant and personal safety and avoids confusion.

When developing the RDS-PP®, new power generation technologies such as wind energy and photovoltaics and their additional requirements were also taken into due account. An RDS-PP® application guideline is also already available for power-to-gas.

VGB develops KKS and RDS-PP® in the German and English language. For working with KKS and RDS-PP®, VGB offers a comprehensive set of rules and standards as well as further services. In addition, the designation systems are also available as Excel® files.

KKS Basic Standard (incl. thermal power plants)

KKS Power Plant Identi­fi­cation System
Standard and code
Document identifier for energy supply plants
KKS explanations for use
General and subject specific
KKS Assignment list of terms to the com­po­nent and operating equipment key
System code
Code letter
Basic function and product classes
Application guideline
Power plants, general
Document identifier for energy supply plants

Components for specific power plants

KKS explanations for use in hydro-power plants
Application guideline
Hydro-power plants
Application guideline
Wind power plants
Application guideline
Photovoltaic power plants
Application guideline
Power-to-gas

Supplementary VGB rules and standards

Supply of technical documentation for energy supply plants
VGB abbreviation catalogue for power plant technology
Rules for setting up designations and their application in power plant engineering
Supply of technical documentation for energy supply plants
VGB abbreviation catalogue for power plant technology
Rules for setting up designations and their application in power plant engineering

DECODING

The labelling systems use up to 17-digit combinations of letters and numbers. Letters are used to classify plant systems in energy engineering. Numbers are used to differentiate between systems, components, equipment or signals. For simple decoding, VGB publications or with digital support are available:

YOUR BESPOKE SOLUTION

You are convinced of KKS or RDS-PP® and would like to use the system tailor-made? Both systems can be individually extended and tailored to your facilities and needs. You can further develop KKS and RDS-PP® yourself. If required, we are ready to offer consulting and training for your individual support. Our cooperation partner TIPWARE helps you to extend the apps with your own system data or manuals. The apps can be adapted to your corporate identity by logos and colours.

Individual consultation

Are you entrusted to label plant components according to RDS-PP® or KKS?
Do you want to do this efficiently, economically and according to the valid VGB standards?
Do you want to use all possibilities and advantages of RDS-PP® or KKS in an optimum way?
  • We are happy to support you in solving complex labelling tasks
  • We clarify electrical, mechanical or engineering issues together with your experts
  • You send us a list of your RDS-PP® codes
    (max 1.000, best with some illustrating P&IDs)
  • We provide a conformity check according to the RDS-PP® rules
  • You get a feedback report with improvement hints
  • We train your staff in efficient RDS-PP® application
  • In-house training – or at KWS training center
  • Individual training topics? That´s our speciality!

KKS app

The KKS app decodes a scanned or entered KKS code and, based on VGB-S-811/VGB-B 106, provides the generally applicable KKS system information and the plant-specific detailed system information of your company.
With two steps you can enter your own KKS data of a plant or your entire plant fleet into the app. Simply upload your data file to our cooperation partner TIPWARE. You will then receive a code which you enter in the app and after that it will be available for your applications.
The KKS app assist the user in decoding systems, components and documents employing KKS codes at the plant. So you always know which systems, components and devices you have in front of you and where you are.
The general basic KKS from VGB is also inclued for free use.
Our cooperation partner TIPWARE will design the app for you according to your specifications. With your logo and your colors. Or do you prefer to extend it with additional data? Be it more texts, pictures or a manual.
You need a connection to existing systems, for example to record meter readings or measured values?

RDS-PP®

RDS-PP® is a plant identification system for all types of energy plants. The RDS-PP® app decodes scanned RDS-PP® code and immediately translates it into readable and understandable information.
With two steps you can enter your own RDS-PP® data of a plant or your entire plant fleet into the APP. Simply upload your data file to our cooperation partner TIPWARE. You will then receive a code, which you enter in the app and after that it will be available for your applications.
The app scans an RDS-PP® label and translates it into readable and understandable information using the data you have stored. So you always know which plants, plant components and devices you have in front of you and where you are.
The basic RDS-PP® of VGB is always available as a reference in the app.
Real-time data, activation, circuit diagrams, photos or manuals. Everything is possible!

CONTACT

VGB is permanently working on the further development of the two plant identification and taxonomy systems KKS (Power Plant Identification System) and RDS-PP® (Reference Designation System for Power Plants) for the benefit of the entire industry. KKS and RDS-PP® are available for practically all applications in power plants and any source of energy. VGB standards provide detailed documentation and suitable license models can be acquired for implementation by any user.

A license is needed for using and applying KKS and RDS-PP®. Ordinary members of VGB (= operators of energy plants as far as they are member according to § 3 (1) of the statutes) are licensed to use and apply KKS and RDS-PP® within the scope of VGBV4SOM (access to the digital VGB rules and standards). Sponsoring and extraordinary VGB members benefit from special offers.

People

Andreas Böser

is in charge with the designation systems and documentation for energy plants, RDS-PP®/KKS
P +49 201 8128 347
andreas.boeser@vgb.org
Jörg Kiepert

Jörg Kiepert

is in charge with RDS-PP®/KKS license agreements

P +49 201 8128 231
joerg.kiepert@vgb.org
Ch. Weßelmann

Christopher Weßelmann

is in charge with RDS-PP®/KKS license conditions and publications/works

P +49 201 8128 300
pr@vgb.org

Kennzeichensysteme

Eine systematische und einheitliche Kenn­zeichnung von Anlagen für die Erzeugung und Speicherung von Strom und Wärme ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Dabei ist diese auch mit Blick auf die Digitalisierung für eine kosteneffiziente Planung, Errichtung, Betriebsführung, Instandhaltung und den Rückbau ein wesentliches Element: Systeme und die einzelnen Anlagenteile sind eindeutig zu kennzeichnen und zu beschildern. Ein in der Branche anerkanntes Kennzeichensystem ist zudem die Basis der Anlagen- und Produkt­dokumentation. Es ist der Schlüssel zu effizientem Datenmanagement, moderner Zustandsüberwachung und vorausschauender Instandhaltung im Unternehmen. Nur ein gemeinsames Kennzeichensystem ermöglicht digitale Schnittstellen zwischen allen Beteiligten, Planern, Herstellern, Versicherern, Betriebsführern und Eigentümern über den gesamten Lebenszyklus einer Anlage.

KKS oder RDS-PP®

Zur Kennzeichnung von Kraftwerken ist seit Mitte der 1970er Jahre das Kraftwerk-Kennzeichensystem KKS des VGB weltweit erfolgreich im Einsatz. Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung wird durch einen VGB-Arbeitskreis gewährleistet. Derzeit liegt das KKS in seiner 8. Auflage von 2018 vor.

Nach dem Erscheinen internationaler Grundnormen für die Kennzeichnung und die Übernahme in europäische Richtlinien bestand die Notwendigkeit, das KKS weiter zu entwickeln. Das Referenzkennzeichensystem für Kraft­werke – kurz RDS-PP® genannt – ist die konsequente Weiterentwicklung des weltweit erfolgreichen Kraftwerkkennzeichensystems KKS.

Eine wesentliche Säule bei der Entwicklung des RDS-PP® war das seit fast 40 Jahren bekannte KKS. Die Kennbuchstaben des KKS-Funktionsschlüssels konnten zu ca. 90 % in den neuen Systemschlüssel übernommen werden. Die VGB-Fachgruppe „Anlagenkennzeichnung und Dokumentation“ arbeitet kontinuierlich an der Erstellung und Pflege von VGB-Standards zur Anwendungs­erweiterung nach RDS-PP®. Die Kenn­zeichnung nach dem RDS-PP® System basiert auf internationalen Normen und bezieht sowohl die Struktur- als auch die Kennzeichnungssystematik mit ein. Das RDS-PP® bietet die Grundlage für eine objektorientierte Identifizierung der einzelnen Anlagenkomponenten mit beliebig vielen Beziehungen zu anderen Objekten und lässt sich somit sehr gut in einem Betriebsführungssystem abbilden. Die einheitliche und durchgängige Strukturierung sowie die eindeutige Identifizierung der Anlagen erhöht die Anlagen- und Personensicherheit und schließt Verwechslungen dadurch aus.

Das RDS-PP® wurde zudem mit Blick auf die neuen Stromerzeugungstechnologien wie Windenergie und Photovoltaik entwickelt und berücksichtigt deren zusätzliche Anforderungen. Auch für Power-to-Gas ist schon eine RDS-PP®-Anwendungsrichtlinie verfügbar.

KKS und RDS-PP® werden von VGB in deutscher und englischer Sprache entwickelt. Für das Arbeiten mit KKS und RDS-PP® bietet VGB sein umfassendes Regelwerk sowie weitere Services an. Die Kennzeichen­schlüssel liegen zudem als Excel-Dateien vor.

Basisregelwerk (inkl. thermische Kraftwerke)

KKS Kraftwerk-Kenn­zeichen­­system
Richt­linen und Schlüssel­teil
Dokumenten­­kenn­zeichen für An­lagen der Energie­ver­sorgung
KKS Anwendungs­erläuterungen
All­gemein und Fach­spezifisch
KKS Begriffs­­zuordnungsliste zum Ag­gre­gate- und Betriebs­mittel­­­schlüssel
System­schlüssel
Kenn­buchstabe
Grund­funktion und Produkt­klassen
Anwendungs­richtlinie
Kraftwerke, Allgemein
Dokumenten­kennzeichen für Anlagen der Energie­versorgung

Kraftwerkstyp spezifische Teile

KKS-Anwendungs­erläuterungen für Wasser­kraftanlagen
Anwendungs­richtlinie
Wasser­kraftwerke
Anwendungs­richtlinie
Wind­kraftwerke
Anwendungs­richtlinie
Photo­voltaische Kraftwerke
Anwendungs­richtlinie
Power to Gas

Ergänzendes VGB-Regelwerk

Lieferung der Technischen Dokumentation für Anlagen der Energie­versorgung
VGB-Abkürzungs­katalog für die Kraftwerkstechnik
Regeln zur Bildung von Benennungen und deren Anwendung in der Kraftwerks­technik
Lieferung der Technischen Dokumentation
für Anlagen der Energie­versorgung
VGB-Abkürzungs­katalog für die Kraftwerkstechnik
Regeln zur Bildung von Benennungen und deren Anwendung in der Kraftwerkstechnik

dekodierung

Die Kennzeichensysteme verwenden bis zu 17-stellige Buchstaben- und Ziffernkombi­nationen. Buchstaben dienen der Klassifi­zierung von Anlagensystemen in der Energietechnik. Ziffern werden für die Unterteilung von Systemen, Komponenten, Betriebsmitteln oder Signalen verwendet. Für die einfache Dekodierung stehen Publikationen des VGB oder auch digitale Unterstützungen zur Verfügung:

ihre maßgeschneiderte lösung

Sie sind von KKS oder RDS-PP® überzeugt und möchten das System maßgeschneidert nutzen? Beide Systeme können individuell erweitert und auf Ihre Anlagen zugeschnitten werden. Sie können KKS und  RDS-PP® selbst weiterentwickeln. Bei Bedarf unterstützen wir Sie mit Beratung und Schulung. Unser Kooperationspartner TIPWARE hilft bei der Erweiterung der Apps um eigene Anlagendaten oder Handbücher. Die Apps können durch Logos und Farben an die eigene Corporate Identity angepasst werden.

Individuelle Beratung

Sie haben die Aufgabe, Anlagenteile nach dem RDS-PP® zu kodieren?
Sie möchten dies wirtschaftlich und nach den Regeln der VGB-Richtlinien erledigen?
Sie möchten alle Möglichkeiten und Vorteile des RDS-PP® optimal nutzen?
  • Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Lösung komplexer Kennzeichnungsaufgaben
  • Elektro-, maschinen- oder bautechnische Themen klären wir gemeinsam mit Ihren Fachleuten
  • Sie schicken uns eine Liste mit Kennzeichen zu
    (max 1.000, am besten zusammen mit erläuternden R&I Schemata)
  • Wir prüfen, ob diese Kennzeichen den RDS-PP® Regeln entsprechen
  • Sie erhalten von uns einen Ergebnisbericht mit Verbesserungsvorschlägen
  • Wir schulen Sie, RDS-PP® effizient anzuwenden
  • Bei Ihnen oder in unserer KWS Kraftwerksschule
  • Haben Sie spezielle Fragen? Darauf gehen wir gerne ein

KKS App

Die KKS App entschlüsselt einen gescannten oder eingegebenen KKS Code und liefert auf Basis der VGB-Standards die allgemein gültigen KKS-Systeminformationen und die anlagenspezifischen detaillierten Systeminformationen Ihres Unternehmens.
Mit zwei Schritten können Sie eigene KKS-Daten einer Anlage oder Ihres gesamten Anlagenparks in die App bringen. Einfach Ihre Daten bei unserem Kooperationspartner TIPWARE als Datei hochladen. Sie erhalten dann einen Code, den Sie in der App eingeben und danach steht sie für Ihre Anwendungen zur Verfügung.
Die App scannt eine KKS-Kennzeichnung und übersetzt sie mit Hilfe der von Ihnen hinterlegten Daten in lesbare und verständliche Informationen. So wissen Sie immer gleich welche Anlagen, Anlagenteile und Geräte Sie vor sich haben und wo Sie sich befinden.
Das Basis-KKS des VGB steht Ihnen als Referenz immer in der App zur Verfügung.
Unser Kooperationspartner TIPWARE gestaltet die App nach Ihren Angaben für Sie. Mit Ihrem Logo und Ihren Farben. Oder lieber um weitere Daten erweitern? Sei es mehr Texte, Bilder oder ein Handbuch.
Sie benötigen eine Anbindung an vorhandene Systeme, um zum Beispiel Zählerstände oder Messwerte zu erfassen?

RDS-PP®

RDS-PP® ist ein Anlagen-Kennzeichen-System für alle Arten von Energieanlagen. Die RDS-PP® App entschlüsselt gescannten RDS-PP® Code und übersetzt ihn sofort in lesbare und verständliche Information.
Mit zwei Schritten können Sie eigene RDS-PP®-Daten einer Anlage oder Ihres gesamten Anlagenparks in die App bringen. Einfach Ihre Daten bei unserem Kooperationspartner TIPWARE als Datei hochladen. Sie erhalten dann einen Code, den Sie in der App eingeben und danach steht sie für Ihre Anwendungen zur Verfügung.
Die App scannt eine RDS-PP®-Kennzeichnung und übersetzt sie mit Hilfe der von Ihnen hinterlegten Daten in lesbare und verständliche Informationen. So wissen Sie immer gleich welche Anlagen, Anlagenteile und Geräte Sie vor sich haben und wo Sie sich befinden.
Das Basis-RDS-PP® des VGB steht Ihnen als Referenz immer in der App zur Verfügung.
Die Darstellung weiterer Daten und die individuelle Anbindung an vorhandene Softwaresysteme, zum Beispiel Betriebsführungssysteme, sind selbstverständlich möglich.
Echtzeitdaten, Freischaltung, Schaltpläne, Fotos oder Handbücher. Alles ist möglich!

Kontakt

VGB arbeitet im Interesse der gesamten Branche permanent an der Weiterentwicklung der beiden Anlagenkennzeichnungs- und Taxonomiesysteme KKS (Kraftwerk-Kennzeichensystem) und RDS-PP® (Reference Designation System for Power Plants) – KKS und RDS-PP® sind für praktisch alle Anwendungen in Energieanlagen und Energieträger verfügbar. Eine ausführliche Dokumentation in VGB-Standards steht ebenso zur Verfügung wie geeignete Lizenzmodelle für die Implementierung bei jedem Anwender.

Nutzung und Anwendung von KKS und RDS-PP® bedürfen einer Lizenzierung. Für Ordentliche Mitglieder des VGB (= Betreiber von Energieanlagen soweit eine Mitgliedschaft nach § 3 (1) der Satzung besteht) sind Nutzung und Anwendung im Rahmen von VGBV4SOM (Zugriff auf das digitale Regelwerk) lizenziert. Fördernde und Außerordentliche Mitglieder des VGB profitieren von vergünstigten Angeboten.

Menschen

Andreas Böser

Alles zum Thema
Kennzeichensysteme und Dokumentation für Energieanlagen, RDS-PP®/KKS
T +49 201 8128 347
andreas.boeser@vgb.org
Jörg Kiepert

Jörg Kiepert

Alles zum Thema
RDS-PP®/KKS Lizenzvertrag

T +49 201 8128 231
joerg.kiepert@vgb.org
Ch. Weßelmann

Christopher Weßelmann

Alles zum Thema
RDS-PP®/KKS Lizenzbedingungen und Publikationen/Werke
T +49 201 8128 300
pr@vgb.org